The Theatre of Early Music Choir

The Choir of the Theatre of Early Music is recognized as Canada’s leading exponent of early sacred music through their world-wide performances and recordings. Working in partnership with the period-instrument orchestra of the Theatre of Early Music, their exploration of this magnificent but neglected repertoire has already reached a vast audience.
Conductor and founder Daniel Taylor has worked with the Choir of the Theatre of Early Music to create a purity of sound which he feels best serves this music. Every performance of the Choir displays the remarkable commitment that has begun to develop their special reputation as leaders in the performance of masterpieces from the Renaissance, Baroque, Classical and 20th Century repertoire.
The Choir of the Theatre of Early Music tours throughout Europe, Asia and the Americas and begins now to give regular performances at concert halls and festivals worldwide, including their regular series of concerts in Montreal, Toronto and Ottawa. The Choir made their debut in 2007 at the Sacred Music Festival of Quebec followed by performances at the Domaine Forget, Festival des Arts de Saint Sauveur and the Montreal Festival en Lumières. The Choir records exclusively for Sony Classical Masterworks.

  • Sopranos :
    • Marie-Claude Arpin, Hélène Brunet, Ghislaine Deschambault, Cynthia Gates, Dayna Lamothe, Kami Lofgren, Iris Luypaers, Marie Magistry, Stephanie Manias, Ellen McAteer, Jana Miller, Margaret Rood, Erika Vogel, Jacqueline Woodley, Agnes Zsigovics
  • Altos :
    • Marie-Annick Belliveau, Meara Conway, Aidan Ferguson, Kyle Guilfoyle, Alexandra Hill, Simon Honeyman, Emma Hopkins, Alfred Lagrenade, Josée Lalonde, Peter Mahon, Erica McBurney, Pierre Mclean, Sarah Myatt
  • Tenors :
    • Larry Beckwith, Bernard Cayouette, Jean-Guy Comeau, Andrew Gray, Michel Léonard, Kevin Reeves, Michiel Schrey, Alexander Wolniak
  • Basses :
    • Martin Auclair, Desmond Byrne, Matthew Cassils, Matthew Grosfeld, Jonathan Lemalu, Andrew Mahon, Philippe Martel, Normand Richard, Yves St-Amant, Sean Waugh, Jonathan Woodey